UPDS to sign peace accord on Oct 24

In a major development for Assam’s Karbi Anglong district, United People’s Democratic Solidarity (UPDS) has agreed to sign a peace agreement with the Centre and Assam government on October 24 at New Delhi.

Assam chief minister Tarun Gogoi welcoming the move said he would also be present at the signing ceremony. The peace accord will pave way for the UPDS to lay down arm.

UPDS has agreed to enter this agreement stating that the demand for statehood will be pressed in a democratic and peaceful manner; Karbi Anglong’s demand for statehood will be included in the State Re-organization Commission (SRC) or any commission as and when constituted by the Government of India, present Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) to be dissolved to smoothen the process for the UPDS to lay down arms and nominated representative of UPDS shall form an interim body to supervise the re-organization of the KATA within the structure of the adjusted Sixth Schedule of the Constitution.

However, Adivasi and Bodo organizations of Karbi Anglong, Adivasi National Liberation Army, All Adivasi Students Association, Adivasi Mohila Samaj and All Bodo Students Union has called for 24 Hours Karbi Anglong strike October 20 from 5 a.m. opposing the peace accord.

Mention may be made that the UPDS came into being in 1999 through a amalgamation of the erstwhile Karbi People’s Front (KPF) and Karbi National Volunteers (KNV) that was formed in 1994.

Some of the points on which the agreement has been made

• Present Karbi Anglong autonomous district will be replaced with a new territorial entity to be known as Karbi Anglong Autonomous Territory (KAAT) under the revised provisions of Sixth Schedule.
• Proposed territory shall have three revenue and administrative districts— East Karbi Anglong, Central Karbi Anglong and West Karbi Anglong with headquarters at Koilamati, Singhason and Hamren respectively.
• The proposed territory will be governed by Karbi Anglong Territorial Authority (KATA).
• KATA shall have 50 seats of which 45 will be reserved for Scheduled Tribes, five will be open, and five seats will be filled through nominations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *